Alice Jones - Poor Strange Girl


Alice Jones – Poor Strange Girl


1x Glass Mastered CD in plastic jewel case, with sleeve notes in booklet.


Debut solo album from Yorkshire folk singer, multi-instrumentalist and dancer Alice Jones.


Alice Jones – vocals, piano, harmonium, whistle, tenor guitar

Tom Kitching – fiddle

Hugh Bradley – double bass


Recorded by Jon Loomes at Talking Cat Studios, Ripponden, and released by Splid Records in 2016.

“Absolutely chock full of great songs and tunes.” -Mike Harding

“This Poor Strange Girl has given us a beautiful and thoughtfully sequenced disc with year-best contender writ all over it.” fRoots Magazine

“This record sets musical standards few established artists could match – Just stunning.” Living Tradition Magazine


Track list:

  1. Poor Strange Girl
  2. Woody Knows Nothing
  3. The Larkman/the Heron Tree
  4. The Cruel Mother
  5. Green Bushes
  6. Wedding Mazurkas
  7. Her Bright Smile Haunts Me Still
  8. When I Am Far Away
  9. Digerrpolskan/The Duhk Strut Reel
  10. Adieu To Old England
  11. The Castle By The Sea
  12. Long Long Trail A-Winding


Close Menu